« Linked In Is Out of Control | Main | Security Enters the Age of Mammals »

March 01, 2012

Social Security Blogger Award Winners

So the 6th annual Security Bloggers Meet up at RSA Conference is now in the books. I don’t know about you but I thought it was our biggest and best one yet!  We had about 170 folks at the party this year. As I said at the party if you were not on the list please make sure we have your email and blog so that you can be sure to be on the list next year.  You can send your info to info@securitybloggersnetwork.com or mediaphyter@gmail.com.

Thanks to my fellow committee members Rich Mogull, Martin McKeay, Jeanne Friedman and most of all Jennifer Leggio. These folks work all year long for these couple of hours to go smoothly. Also a huge thank you to our sponsors who stay with us year after year and make this party possible: Fortinet, Sourcefire, Barracuda Networks, Core Trace, Akamai, Qualys and especially our friends at RSA Conference.

For the 4th year this year we of course had the Social Security Blogger Awards.  Our finalists this year truly are the best of the best.  The winners are the very top of our community.  Before I tell you the winners, let me also give a huge shout out to our blue ribbon panel of judges: Bill Brenner, Kelly Jackson Higgins, Larry Walsh and our special guest judge, Wendy Nather.  As many of you know Wendy was not able to join us at the show this year because she is home getting better. Everyone who blogs in the security world wishes her a speedy recovery and look forward to her joining us here next year!

So here are the winners for the 2012 Security Blogger Awards:

Best Corporate Security Blog Nominees:

Fortinet Security Blog http://blog.fortinet.com/

Denim Group http://blog.denimgroup.com/

Trend Micro Cloud Security Blog http://cloudsecurity.trendmicro.com/

Veracode Security Blog http://www.veracode.com/blog/

Kaspersky Lab Blog https://www.securelist.com/en/

and the winner is:

Sophos Naked Security Blog http://nakedsecurity.sophos.com/

Best Security Podcast

Threat Post http://threatpost.com/en_us/podcast The Network Security Podcast http://netsecpodcast.com/

Eurotrash Security Podcast http://www.eurotrashsecurity.eu/index.php/Main_Page

Pauldotcom http://pauldotcom.com/

The Southern Fried Security Podcast http://www.southernfriedsecurity.com/

and the winner is:

Exotic Liability http://www.exoticliability.com/

The Most Educational Security Blog

Cognitive Dissidents http://blog.cognitivedissidents.com/

F-Secure blog http://www.f-secure.com/weblog/

The New School Security Blog http://newschoolsecurity.com/

AppSecInc Blog http://blog.appsecinc.com/

Evil Bytes/John Sawyer http://www.darkreading.com/blog/archives/evil-bytes/index.html

and the winner is:

Tao Security http://taosecurity.blogspot.com/

The Most Entertaining Security Blog

Rational Survivability http://www.rationalsurvivability.com/blog/

Andrew Hay's Blog http://www.andrewhay.ca/

New School Of Information Security/Adam Shostack http://newschoolsecurity.com/

Naked Security http://nakedsecurity.sophos.com/

Securosis Blog http://securosis.com/blog

and the winner is:

Uncommon Sense Security/Jack Daniel http://blog.uncommonsensesecurity.com/

The Blog That Best Represents The Security Industry

Uncommon Sense Security http://blog.uncommonsensesecurity.com/

SANS Internet Storm Center http://isc.sans.org/

Securosis blog https://securosis.com/blog

and the winner is:

Krebs On Security http://krebsonsecurity.com/

The Single Best Blog Post or Podcast Of The Year

Martin McKeay, Curing the Credit Card Cancer http://www.mckeay.net/2011/11/28/curing-the-credit-card-cancer/

Veracode Blog http://www.veracode.com/blog/2011/08/musings-on-custers-last-stand/

Idoneous Security http://idoneous-security.blogspot.com/2011/12/what-your-analyst-wishes-you-knew.html

and the winner is:

Moxie Marlinspike's ThoughtCrime Labs http://blog.thoughtcrime.org/authenticity-is-broken-in-ssl-but-your-app-ha

The First Two Members Of The Security Bloggers Hall Of Fame (please pick 2)

Adam Shostack (Emergent Chaos, New School of Security)

Rich Bejtlich, Tao Security Chris Hoff, Rational Survivability

Graham Cluley, Naked Security

and the first two honorees:

Bruce Schneier, Schneier On Security

Brian Krebs (Washington Post, Krebs on Security)

Congrats to all of our winners. Thanks everyone for coming and making this another great bloggers meet up. Now back to making next years event the best!


TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Social Security Blogger Award Winners:


My Photo

Subscribe to my blog

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Lijit Search

Blog Networks

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 2.5 License.


Lijit Search

Blog powered by TypePad
Member since 10/2005